Film Is Life

I’m sure you can predict, the mind-readers among you, that this post is going to be about film. Well, +10 points, you got it.

I love film. I love watching films, talking about films, making films, seeing how films were made, learning about the different interpretations people have, all of it. I love it. And I think one of the main reasons that I love it is because film is all relative. Like everything else, your own experience and interpretation of film is just that: your own. No one can tell you you’ve watched it wrong or can’t enjoy it or don’t have the right to enjoy it, because you are the only person who has experienced it. But there are still running themes among those of us who take film to be a passion rather than something to distract their eyes for two hours that indicate a good film or a bad one, which are all based on opinion. The beauty of art is it is never the same for two people.

Now, I am no expert. As you may be aware, I would like to become a filmmaker. That’s the dream. And in my quest to be stood on a stage receiving a statue of a small gold man, I will learn. I have already learnt so much and my opinions have changed and my thoughts of those opinions have changed. It is a very rare thing for me to sit and enjoy a film without thinking analyzing it in one way or another. I’ll be fully engrossed in the main character’s plight and things  like “oh, the way that was shot is beautiful” or “I’m not sure about that actor’s delivery there” will pop into my head. And yes, often they are fleeting and I get straight back into gripping the edge of my seat wondering for the four hundredth time whether or not Frodo is gonna pull his head out of his arse and realize that Sam is the greatest dude on the block and Gollum is just a scheming little shit who needs kicking up the arse and sending packing. Spoiler alert: he doesn’t. Gollum bites his finger off. Who ever said karma isn’t real?

I am a big fan of YouTuber and Filmmaker Jack Howard, and in a video he made in 2014 entitled “Why Do We Love Films?” he said something which I guess sums that idea up: my favourite films are the ones that can take me out of that analytical mindset and have me laughing or sobbing or scared shitless without any consideration for how they did it. Unfortunately, possibly down to the fact that I really don’t  watch new releases as much as I should anymore (anyone wanna go see a film, I am LITERALLY ALWAYS AVAILABLE), it’s really difficult for me to find that. I think I find it the most in films aimed at a younger audience or fantasy films, because it’s that idea of make believe. You get two hours to believe all these things are real, to be 8 years old and playing in your bedroom pretending to be a superhero. They bring you back to that child inside who just yearns for it all to be real, so I can give over to that a lot more easily than I can to, say, horror films.

A prime example of this is the How To Train Your Dragon series. Hands down my all-time favourite animated franchise, or films, ever. I truly believe that they are perfection, from themes to characters to performance to cinematography, they are a work of art with arcs from not just one character but many. And it’s supposed to be a kids film. It is so superbly executed you begin to wonder why live action movies are struggling to be so good.

I would like to share my love of film with you more regularly. As I’ve said, I’m going to be writing some essays which I will be posting on here for your viewing pleasure, but I will also be reviewing films and series when I fancy it (unfortunately some things are just not worth the time of day, so don’t expect a 3000 word essay on Keeping Up With The Kardashians, which I am not ashamed to say I have only watched about 20 minutes of in my life and found it to be truly ‘meh’) so stay tuned for that. I’ve got a brand new daily schedule going to make sure that I am more productive each day and to utilize the time that I am conscious, including keeping up with current affairs. So as I become better informed on the world, I may make a comment here and there if the topic takes my fancy. Although don’t ever expect football. I am so indifferent to the sport I think I’d much rather sit and watch a snail do it’s thing for 90 minutes than force my way through an England game.

Oh, I’ve started doing a workout. That’s fun. I’ll keep you updated on that. It’s just a bunch of 30 day challenges followed by some stretching but with any luck I’ll be ripped come September.

Please let me know what your favourite films are, any you might want me to review and any other nonsense you fancy telling me in the comments. I will read them, because I have nothing else to do.

Keep doing that awesome thing that you do, cause I love it, and I’ll catch you later.

Chlo xo

Author: Entertainment Valu3

Hey! I'm Chlo. Lover of film, music, acting, musical theatre and climbing. I also have an ongoing and rather unhealthy relationship with Game Of Thrones and food, but don't we all?

Leave a Reply

